Week 21: Neighborhood Pets

Collage papers and drawings

This week’s collage is a playful exploration of the neighborhood pets and their relationships. As I walk my dog, Holly, around the cul-de-sac and up and down our quiet streets, we often encounter other animals, sometimes from a distance, and sometimes nose to nose.  As short barks or sniffs are exchanged, I wonder about their communications and understanding of one another.  Through many small drawings, I tried to capture the personalities of actual pets in the neighborhood, as well as drawing new characters of my own invention. My approach allowed for simple cartoon-like animals, as well as more realized renderings. I borrowed leftover paper elements from previous collages and combined them with new drawings. The process was fun, light-hearted and maybe a little bit silly at moments. Welcoming this attitude in my work felt great. Here is the final collage, followed by favorite details.

Neighborhood Pets, acrylic collage, 12 x 12

Detail, Neighborhood Pets- The Nest, Olivia and the Mocking Bird

Detail, Neighborhood Pets- Holly and the Mocking Bird

Detail, Neighborhood Pets- A cat crosses the cul-de-sac

Detail, Neighborhood Pets- This is their neighborhood too!

4 thoughts on “Week 21: Neighborhood Pets

  1. I SO love your work, Laura! I love the marriage of specific details with abstract patterns–how you work those into one piece impresses and amazes. Also, the details make the collage elements look like bits of material, which creates a patchwork and layered feeling so that the 2 dimensional animals become part of a 3 dimensional space. I can not wait until I can purchase your sheets, towels, and shower curtains!!!!

    • Thanks so much for your support and encouragement! I loved your comment. Your observations are so well articulated and right on target with what I was hoping to achieve! Have you considered doing more writing about art? 🙂

Leave a Reply

